PDA

View Full Version : Powercommander Question?

desmo
17-08-2008, 02:35 PM
Hi all.
I am considering a power commander & as I have no experience of them, I have a few questions for those of you more clued up than me.

I have a S2R 1000 with closed loop fuel injection (i.e Lamba Sensor) & I have lean running issues.

Dynojet do not make a Powercommander specificly for my bike, can I buy a powercommander for say a Multistrada 1000 or a Monster 1000 ie & fit it to my S2R? What is the difference with all the powercommander options, are the fittings all the same & it is just the maps that are different on the cd's supplied with the kits?

Can I fit a powercommander for say a Monster 1000 ie to my S2R & then get a custom map installed into it at my local tuning shop?

Another problem is that Powercommander say that with Ducati's fitted with closed loop fuel injection (lamba Sensor) the powercommander will not have any effect on the fueling below about 30% throttle opening whilst it is running in closed loop mode? If I disconnect the lamba sensor, would this then allow me to alter the fueling via the powercommander below the 30% throttle opening?

I know disconnecting the lamba will put the mil light on, but I was just considering my options because I have been quoted £750 for a DP ecu which is a bit on the steep side at the moment.
I am begining to think that maybe the DP ecu option is the only realistic option? unless any of you know different?

Stafford
17-08-2008, 03:38 PM
I'd love to know the answer myself, but if you think it's the PC route then I guess the way forward is to go to an installer and get them to custom fit one.
I was offered this route by the guy in Keynsham. I'd like to do after buying a cheaper one from the USA, if only I knew which one.
When I ran mine without the Lambda connected I didn't get any warning lights, but it does run better with it fitted. I am running with Termis' and DP ECU.

desmo
17-08-2008, 03:59 PM