UK Monster Owners Club Forum » .: Technical :. » Kits & Accessories » Alternative alarm ?

Old 18-01-2018, 10:20 AM   #1
utopia
No turn left unstoned

Bike: M750
Alternative alarm ?

I'm not a fan of onboard bike alarms.
To be honest, I have no personal experience as I have never actually owned one but it seems to me that they are of dubious value in the first place, often hyped up by never ending modes and features to tempt the punters and they are prone to battery draining issues and other electrical gremlins.
If I use one at all, it is a Xena alarmed disc-lock, which I like because it is totally independant of the bike's electrics.
I seldom use that but there are some occasions when the bike will be parked out of sight but within earshot, and under those circumstances it saves me constantly checking that the bike is still there.
Then today, while idly googling around during a tea break, I came across this battery powered bicycle alarm.
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Bicycle-B...AAAOSwxOFaV5ve
Ok, it looks like a cheap device but when you think about it, maybe that's all you need. After all, everyone knows that alarms just get ignored by the general passers by, so why have a fancy one ?
But for under a fiver, I might just be able to see a role for these cheap, low-spec units.

Discuss.
utopia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2018, 11:55 AM   #2
350TSS
Too much time on my hands member

Bike: M900
Convinced me - all the alarmed bikes I have had have been a regular PITA and the alarm has always been discarded, I bought one but some say I am easily lead
350TSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2018, 12:28 PM   #3
Dukedesmo

Always felt alarms/immobilisers a waste of time on a bike, a determined thief will take it regardless and I don't think many bother hotwiring/riding away.