UK Monster Owners Club Forum .: Technical :. Electrics » S4r tachometer not working

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26-03-2020, 06:11 PM   #1
avey2798
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Wichita
Bike: S4r
Posts: 3
S4r tachometer not working

I am new to this forum! I have a 2005 S4R and my tachometer isn't working. I replaced the entire gauge cluster with a new one and still it doesn't work! Both needles does the initial sweep when I turn on the bike but then the tach will not read the rpms. Any clues? Bad Coils? The bike seems to run fine but it just won't read the rpms. This was also the case even with the old gauge cluster.
avey2798 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2020, 06:38 PM   #2
Darren69
Too much time on my hands member
 
Darren69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sutton In Ashfield
Bike: S4
Posts: 4,501
I think the tacho is driven by the ECU so not coils, they're on the ends of the spark plugs anyway.
__________________
Roast Beef Monster!

Termignoni and Bucci - Italian for pipe and slippers!
Darren69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2020, 07:50 PM   #3
Luddite
Registered User
 
Luddite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southampton
Bike: M1100evo
Posts: 1,437
If the S4R electrics are the same as my old S2R, then I think you have to pair the new clocks with the ECU using the red key. I'm afraid I don't know the actual procedure, maybe another S4R owner will chip in with some more information.

Alternatively, you could try asking Avanti Racing for advice or help.

http://www.avantiraceparts.co.uk/page.php?id=19
Luddite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2020, 05:45 AM   #4
Darren69
Too much time on my hands member
 
Darren69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sutton In Ashfield
Bike: S4
Posts: 4,501
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luddite View Post
If the S4R electrics are the same as my old S2R, then I think you have to pair the new clocks with the ECU using the red key. I'm afraid I don't know the actual procedure, maybe another S4R owner will chip in with some more information.

Alternatively, you could try asking Avanti Racing for advice or help.

http://www.avantiraceparts.co.uk/page.php?id=19
I thought that was just for the stupid immobiliser? I could be wrong but everything else is working ok it's pointing to a faulty connection between the ECU and clocks.
__________________
Roast Beef Monster!

Termignoni and Bucci - Italian for pipe and slippers!
Darren69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2020, 09:25 AM   #5
avey2798
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Wichita
Bike: S4r
Posts: 3
I have re-keyed the new gauge cluster using my red key already and it runs normally. I guess I ha e to chase the tach wire somehow but I don't know where to start. So the tach runs straight to the ECU?
avey2798 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2020, 09:58 AM   #6
Darren69
Too much time on my hands member
 
Darren69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sutton In Ashfield
Bike: S4
Posts: 4,501




TACHOUT goes from ECU to CLOCK. That would be my guess. It's a Green wire.
__________________
Roast Beef Monster!

Termignoni and Bucci - Italian for pipe and slippers!
Darren69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2020, 10:39 AM   #7
Darren69
Too much time on my hands member
 
Darren69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sutton In Ashfield
Bike: S4
Posts: 4,501
I should add that the above was from the Workshop manual for '02 S4 Fogarty not S4R so I would check they didn't change anything for that.
__________________
Roast Beef Monster!

Termignoni and Bucci - Italian for pipe and slippers!
Darren69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2020, 12:14 PM   #8
jerry
Old Git
 
jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: brighton
Bike: Multiple Monsters
Posts: 2,341
i had similar problem on an S4 the problem was bad Regulator so battery was not getting enough volts and amps which sent electronic tacho into shutdown
__________________
MONSTERMAN
jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2020, 08:12 AM   #9
alan s4
Registered User
 
alan s4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Glasgow
Bike: S4 challenge
Posts: 304
Same as Jerry - dead tacho was the 1st sign I had with the reg/rect failing. Check how many volts you have with the engine running.
alan s4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2020, 12:03 PM   #10
avey2798
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Wichita
Bike: S4r
Posts: 3
Thank you everyone for the insight! Greatly appreciate it. I will check the wires and also my reg/rect to see!
avey2798 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:35 AM.

vBulletin Skins by vBmode.com. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.