UK Monster Owners Club Forum » .: Technical :. » Engines, Clutch, Gears » Anybody have a clapping sound

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22-03-2020, 06:04 PM   #16
CarloL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Dublin Ireland
Bike: M900
Posts: 269
Sorry , they must be copper ones , got changed last year
CarloL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2020, 06:31 PM   #17
CarloL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Dublin Ireland
Bike: M900
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark64 View Post
Bad news about the head stud, if you are lucky it won't have sheared flush (I wasn't that lucky - if I fell in a barrel of tits I'd come out sucking my thumb) it's not that bad a job to replace the head studs, leave the pistons in the barrels when stripping down - it's much easier that way.
Good luck.
I will leave it into the garage

Can we get uprated studs from Ducati? I presume should of been used from the outset
CarloL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2020, 07:06 PM   #18
utopia
No turn left unstoned
 
utopia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: leicester
Bike: M750
Posts: 4,310
Are you saying that the broken stud is on the horizontal cylinder ?
If so, that could be seen as a less costly repair job because I'm assuming it can be fixed without taking the engine out of the frame (I'm also assuming that a broken stud in the vertical cylinder would require engine removal to fix).
As I said earlier, the weaker studs are shiny/silver while the stronger ones are black. Of course rust may have obscured which is which by now, but you could probably still tell with close inspection.
If you do have the weaker studs then I guess its your call as to whether you replace those in the vertical cylinder as well (as a preventive measure) or leave those as they are to keep the cost down.

What year is the bike ?
utopia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2020, 07:24 PM   #19
Luddite
Registered User
 
Luddite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southampton
Bike: M1100evo
Posts: 1,436
As utopia says, Ducati did produce stronger studs to eliminate this problem and they are identified by their colour. There may also be identifying letters stamped on the ends of the studs. Have a look here for some more information (posts #808 - #811):

http://www.ukmonster.co.uk/monster/s...=54664&page=54
Luddite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2020, 08:48 PM   #20
CarloL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Dublin Ireland
Bike: M900
Posts: 269
Yes its in the horizontal cylinder behind the oil cooler (throttle side), they are all rusted so hard to tell

I will have them all replaced , its a 1997 bike ; 6K on the clock

Have the belts on the 748 to d too and insurance renewal this month ; expensive month ahead!

Monster just got fresh Motor tax, puncture , new tyres, 2nd puncture in new tyre fixed , oil change , new brake pads , new starter solenoid , new uprated power cables ...two spins in ,front head stud decided to go .. disaster , everything I take it out something breaks or I get a puncture lol

Last edited by CarloL; 22-03-2020 at 08:51 PM..
CarloL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2020, 12:54 PM   #21
CarloL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Dublin Ireland
Bike: M900
Posts: 269
Had a look at the service manual last night with all this talk about spark plug gap ; OE is 0.6mm

I ordered some new Iridium plugs, preset to 0.8mm gap ; not too sure if I need to re-gap to 0.9mm/1mm

It appears it is a common issue people have with them , rear plug gets carbon deposits / fouls ; they run rich from factory , not too sure if you do anything to improve combustion
CarloL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2020, 02:00 PM   #22
Flip
Registered User
 
Flip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beachtown
Bike: M900
Posts: 1,972
Personally I would be a little wary of fitting Iridium plugs to the old 2v motors particularly one that appears to be fouling them up as those little electrodes can soon become clogged and coupled with a bigger gap for the spark to jump you may find after a short while you’ll experience rough running, whereas the standard plugs with less of a gap are much more tolerant of it.
__________________
You're perfect, yes, it's true- But without me you're only you!
Flip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2020, 02:20 PM   #23
CarloL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Dublin Ireland
Bike: M900
Posts: 269
I ran the iridium prior no issues with the preset 0.8mm gap
CarloL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2020, 05:06 PM   #24
Darren69
Too much time on my hands member
 
Darren69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sutton In Ashfield
Bike: S4
Posts: 4,500
Bad luck on the broken stud, happened to my 900SS but it was a rear one, but I found out it was possible to replace them without motor out job despite what some 'experts' would have you believe. The front ones are much easier and cheaper to replace but less likely to break. If you can't get the Ducati ones and if ordering from Italy would likely be a logistical nightmare right now, Geoff Baines used to supply his own versions and that is what I fitted to mine. So might be worth checking Baines Racing if his outfit is still up and running?
__________________
Roast Beef Monster!

Termignoni and Bucci - Italian for pipe and slippers!
Darren69 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2020, 10:04 PM   #25
Luddite
Registered User
 
Luddite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southampton
Bike: M1100evo
Posts: 1,436

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=mq4l2Yr9egM

I've been following this guy's Supersport rebuild and he's just got to the stage of reassembling the barrels and heads using the black studs.

At 18:25, he shows the special tool needed to tighten the head bolts and how to use it (at 90° to the torque wrench). Dimensions are also given if you want to make your own.

Interestingly, at 19:50, he quotes different torque settings for the silver and black studs (42Nm silver, 39Nm black).

By the way, if you watch the video through from the beginning, you'll see just how useful Richard's home-made circlip tool actually is. http://www.ukmonster.co.uk/monster/s...postcount=1070

Last edited by Luddite; 09-04-2020 at 09:20 PM.. Reason: Taking advantage of slob's YouTube button!
Luddite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2020, 11:46 PM   #26
CarloL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Dublin Ireland
Bike: M900
Posts: 269
Thanks

But this will be getting sent to the Ducati Specialist Friday , luckily he as 4 studs in stock; seen him do it before , he doesnt take the engine out
CarloL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2020, 08:57 PM   #27
CarloL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Dublin Ireland
Bike: M900
Posts: 269
Turned out a head stud was replaced in the same section , they only replaced 1 Stud and left the other 3 untouched ; strange to go to the bother and not replace the 4

I replaced the speedo drive but mechanic said I need a new Speedo Cable

Just OE or any other alternatives

Speedo Cable 40310083A
CarloL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2020, 06:11 AM   #28
Darren69
Too much time on my hands member
 
Darren69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sutton In Ashfield
Bike: S4
Posts: 4,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarloL View Post
Turned out a head stud was replaced in the same section , they only replaced 1 Stud and left the other 3 untouched ; strange to go to the bother and not replace the 4

I replaced the speedo drive but mechanic said I need a new Speedo Cable

Just OE or any other alternatives

Speedo Cable 40310083A
Stein Dinse are listing one for 12.95 euros which I assume is a pattern one because they have also one for 35.70 euro. Not sure what DHL shipping would be though.

https://www.stein-dinse.biz/product_...oducts_id=1872
__________________
Roast Beef Monster!

Termignoni and Bucci - Italian for pipe and slippers!
Darren69 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2020, 03:44 PM   #29
Darkness
.
 
Darkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Stockbridge
Bike: M900
Posts: 1,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarloL View Post
I replaced the speedo drive but mechanic said I need a new Speedo Cable

Just OE or any other alternatives

Speedo Cable 40310083A
Should be easily postable. Check with MotoRapido for cost. Don’t forget to ask for discount!
__________________
Original and Best since 1993
Darkness is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:38 AM.

vBulletin Skins by vBmode.com. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.