UK Monster Owners Club Forum .: Technical :. Mods & How To's » Electronic speedo recalibration

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28-06-2020, 09:46 PM   #1
manwithredbike
aka Phil
 
manwithredbike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: derry
Bike: M900
Posts: 354
Electronic speedo recalibration

Non-ducati but, i'm changing sprocket sizes on my other bike, a Yamaha MT03 660 and it's got an electronic speedo. The speedo is fed by a sensor at the output of the gearbox i believe so the different drive ratio will result in a false reading.
Has anyone ever fitted any speedo recalibrating devices before and/or any recommendations or tips?
Thanks -- Phil
__________________
..
~
manwithredbike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2020, 11:11 PM   #2
Luddite
Registered User
 
Luddite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southampton
Bike: M1100evo
Posts: 1,518
Healtech do speedo-healers https://www.healtech-electronics.com/products/sh/
Luddite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2020, 08:34 AM   #3
the lodger
Registered User
 
the lodger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Chorley
Bike: M900
Posts: 65
Probably not the right answer but why not change the rear sprocket instead ?
__________________
Contents may settle !
the lodger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2020, 08:44 AM   #4
Luddite
Registered User
 
Luddite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southampton
Bike: M1100evo
Posts: 1,518
That'll also cause a problem because the output shaft will still be turning at different revs from what the OE program expects for any given road speed.
Luddite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2020, 10:22 AM   #5
spuggy
Registered User
 
spuggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Farnborough
Bike: M900sie
Posts: 95
I bought one of these https://www.yellr.com/yb_home.htm nearly 15 years ago.

1980's legally-mandated speedo optimism with a tyre size/wheel change == insanely inaccurate readings.

Ready-made harnesses for popular vehicles; but only power +/- speed signal in/out so not brain surgery to use the generic unterminated harness and add connectors.

Fitted, calibrated against GPS (it needed a tad more than I'd calculated/measured). Forgot it was there because it Just Works...
__________________
2000 900Sie, 2001 900ie Dark/Sie, 2001 S4. 1960 TR6 (future T120TT clone), 1964 XLH, 1969 XLCH "almost stock"..
spuggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2020, 12:09 PM   #6
manwithredbike
aka Phil
 
manwithredbike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: derry
Bike: M900
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by the lodger View Post
Probably not the right answer but why not change the rear sprocket instead ?
As Luddite says, once you change the ratio between the drive sprocket and the rear wheel at either sprocket, the speedo calibration will be off. Even a worn tyre will change it.

Thanks for the info guys, i'll get a look at them.
__________________
..
~
manwithredbike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2020, 05:16 PM   #7
manwithredbike
aka Phil
 
manwithredbike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: derry
Bike: M900
Posts: 354
[IMG][/IMG]
Ended up with this one from Healtech.
Plugged in to the existing plugs in the loom and a few mins to programme in the correction. Good job.
Despite the pic, it's only less than 2" long by less than 1" wide/thick (far away cow/near cow).
__________________
..
~
manwithredbike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:21 PM.

vBulletin Skins by vBmode.com. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.