UK Monster Owners Club Forum » .: Technical :. » Engines, Clutch, Gears » ramble

Old 15-04-2005, 09:26 PM   #1
creepy

ramble

is it me?or is using a monster for daily commuting a bad idea?i dont want to sound negative as i love my bike,but every day the thing seems to run differently,sometimes sweet,sometimes off colour.it always starts well but theres always that feeling that i,ve been lucky it started,if you know what i mean? every week seems to throw up a new niggle too fix at the weekend before work on monday and the thing seems to attract dirt like no other i've owned!i'm no mechanic but i did fit a second-hand cylinder head after i broke a cambelt,so this might explain my lack of confidence in the machine but the the thing just feels fragile to me.in my opinion with 25k on clock regardless of age the bike should be like new,but when i read other posts it seems my bike is high milage! i ride one of the busiest roads in europe every day(a2 into london) but ive never seen another monster,are monsters for fun only?should i buy a honda 90?
creepy
Old 15-04-2005, 09:50 PM   #2
Scotty

nah but im convinced they need a good work out every now and again rather than (the short in my case) commute to work
Old 15-04-2005, 11:11 PM   #3
spacemonkey
I see dead people.

Location: Carving a slice thru the braindead masses..(pun intended)
Bike: M900
Broke a cambelt??? THE most important thing with these beasts is regular correct servicing. No ifs or buts. Should be fine for commuting then. I usually do a high mileage around London on mine. 35k now, most of that 'round London. The batteries are **** eon these, for a better solution get a http://www.tayna.co.uk/catalog/73/0/...ies-page1.html from http://www.knightbatteries.com/popup...1471&p_i=91471
That'll do it...
spacemonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2005, 12:03 PM   #4
DesmoDog