PDA

View Full Version : Rear Light Woes

daedos
24-11-2004, 07:15 PM
Riding around these dark nights with no rear/brake light is not a bright idea so .... has anybody got any tips on how to keep the contacts on the bulb? I have tried bending the contacts, but the bulb keeps travelling in the holder. Pretty crap design

Scotty
24-11-2004, 07:23 PM
spend cash and replace wi sumit better / more bling/chavaish/stylish
or
solder the contacts in place ;)

DesmoDom
24-11-2004, 07:25 PM
Stuart at Spareshack sells a very nice LED tail light unit that fits straight in and you can have either a clear lens or keep your original one.
Fit one of these and you'll have no more problems.

Baz

Richard_S
24-11-2004, 07:29 PM
i had/am having the same issues. im reliably told its due to the "v twin vibes"
I had a good old tinker on Monday and touch wood should be fine.

i didnt solder the contacts (alas i am a 1 screw driver owning man) but with a bit of effort you can sculpt them in a fashion where even with the bends they stay hooked up. its all in the wiggle. I'll let ya know how I get on.

A Yerbury
24-11-2004, 07:31 PM
I replaced mine not long ago as some un named fool overtightened the screws resulting in cracked plastic, orderd one from jhp and quel surprise, not just the lens but the whole lot for about 11 quid? who said ducks were pricey?

Albie
24-11-2004, 07:49 PM
Just bought a BLING one. As seen the other day on Bobs and Paul Critchards LED one. Looks great on the monnie. Seems as it was made for the bike. Well the ad pics a monnie. No more blown bulbs or loose contacts. The other week I was followed with no light or brake lights :eek: :eek: . How long for though :eek:

Pedro
24-11-2004, 10:32 PM
I've got folded bits of silver paper in mine....

LED on the shopping list

Ped

DesmoDom
24-11-2004, 10:39 PM