PDA

View Full Version : Anodising or Powder Coating - which is tougher?

Paranoid Dave
07-11-2004, 04:52 PM
I want to change the colour of my belly pan, currently it's anodised black at the front as it's aluminium but it's almost worn down to silver at the front where the stones get it! :mad: I can't see the point of having it done again as it will only get pitted once more. Would powder coating be harder wearing and last longer?

Thanks to Pedro for answering my similar question about the yokes, seeing as he was the ONLY one to reply I thought I'd better start a new thread for this one and maybe get more replies this time ;)

I have lots of bits i'd like to colour black, is there any advice on good and pad points of eaither method or which parts to avoid doing?

Thanks

PD

A Yerbury
07-11-2004, 05:02 PM
mr ped he speak the truth... leaving further replies redundant! I've no experience of anodising but my old cx 5oo had a powder coated gloss black frame. no chips, even down there, there was a small tear at the back of the frame though. this was ten yrs ago and the process must have moved on a lot since then. Most P C places should be able to offer some guarantee (longevity wise) of their work? could you boot up some pic s of kylie so as to remind me of this belly pan? its the RR foldy metal one JAH?
Alex.
ps. 3 swingarms on ebay at mo, one polished although u r no doubt frying other fish at the mo. was going to get some ebc hh the other day but the chap said "yeah they re good but try the -gold something?- pads, a bit cheaper and just as good" will keep posted.

Paranoid Dave
07-11-2004, 05:21 PM
I'm glad mr ped speak the truth, I much preferrd the P C idea as everything would have a unified look then rather than anodised the ali and powder the rest. I only got confused as someone who will remain nameless that I spoke to swore blind anodising was tougher and better by far. Pah!