PDA

View Full Version : New S4R owner with questions

rjc
07-09-2004, 10:43 AM
I'm getting my new S4R this weekend andm, in anticipation, I've been reading the owner's manual (sad, isn't it?!). I was very amused to read that you're meant to take the bike in to have the chain adjusted - surely not?????

I'm new to Ducati ownership, and new to London too :confused: . Are there any meets coming up? I didn't see anything upcoming mentioned in the forum.

Melnie Mouse
07-09-2004, 11:02 AM
ohhhh how exciting......

good luck and have fun... i'm sure you will... :) :D

PaulS
07-09-2004, 11:03 AM
If you want to pay £40 for some spotty teenager at your local Ducati dealer to adjust your chain then be my guest. Adjusting the chain on a Monster is no more difficult than any other bike. Yours will be easy as you don't even have to bother about wheel alignment. Don't expect to find the tools you'll need in the toolkit though! It's pathetic. Welcome to the club!

slob
07-09-2004, 11:06 AM
as long as you haven't got two left hands or ten thumbs, i'd risk adjusting it myself!

probably be a few monsterisers at the ace cafe on thursday evening, see london region forum for map.

rjc
07-09-2004, 12:57 PM
Thanks for the replies. I'm glad to hear that the chain's not tricky. I took a quick look at the one on the demo bike I rode and there was no obvious way to adjust it though! How the hell does it work?

As for Thursday night Ace Cafe, there is a slight chance the bike will be ready then, but most likely Saturday morning, so if you see a blue/white Monster around London with a lost-looking rider it'll be me!

Richard

PaulS
07-09-2004, 02:37 PM