PDA

View Full Version : help required perleeze...

davebluez
17-05-2004, 05:03 PM
hello everyone, i'm a newbie here and require the wealth of wisdom that i hope is within these boards.

please know that i am engine illiterate. i very much enjoy getting from A to B, but how to ride the thing really is the extent of my knowledge.

recently...ish, the timing belt snapped on my 1993 900 monster, laying waste to various assorted surrounding 'things'. the bike was collected by ducati london south, and the work was carried out. cost coming in at just under £500. everything was great.

and then i get a puncture. hurrah.

£200 pounds worth of pirelli's later and suddenly my bike is exhibiting almost exactly the same noises and complaints that occurred when the original belt snapped, but this time it just 'feels' as if the belt may be slipping a lot [definite sporadic slippy/squeaky noise] and as i said accompanied by very similar noises.

i phoned ducati up and explained the situation, and asked if they could collect the bike and check out what i believe to be a similar problem. they said they couldn't do that for another 8 weeks as they are fully booked...

8 weeks!

it's beautiful sunshine and i've got new pirelli's to wear in! they aren't playing fair. i asked if they maybe made allowances for correcting work that they had already 'done', and was told, no.

can anyone please advise me?

i am very sorry for the longwinded email, but i really don't want to lose part of this lovely summer stuck with a bike that i cannot ride. [with new f*cking tyres...did i mention that?]

i live in north-west london. any advice on where to take my bike would really be very much appreciated.

thank you all for your patience.

db

ps. could fitting new tyres have caused any upset..? it happened the very following day.

Ade
17-05-2004, 06:38 PM
Hi db
are you any whetre near Ealing General, its where I work