PDA

View Full Version : Rain Stopping my monster starting

syvers
06-05-2004, 08:14 PM
Originally posted this on DOC message board but advised i might find it better here.

I have so many problems when there is the slightest bt of rain the bike wont start even if running fine the even before. I do have a cover but sometimes forget to put it on. Anyway, as soon as the sun comes out and dries it up it works again! I am sure it has something to do with wet getting to the spark plugs as it turns over just doesnt start up. I am no mechanic.

A friend tells me they are just rubbish in bad weather fullstop. A point he made to me after i bought it!!

Is this just something to put up with or is there an aswer, perhaps a different type of spark plug cover with a watertight seal?

Any help would be appreciated.

On another subject the rear brake sounds like an articulated lorry, my dealer said he had fixed it and it is worse. I saw something about using a piece of tin from a can as a shim, does anyone know where i can find instrcutions on fitting this as i cant for the life of me find them. I will take the instructions to the dealer and ask him to sort it out!!

Thanks very much

Paul

gary tompkins
06-05-2004, 08:28 PM
The front plug on most naked duke's gets the full force of spray off the front tyre, which can cause running problems in wet weather. My own 600 used to suffer from this sometimes in bad downpours, but a squirt of wd40 usually got me home. A brand new set of plug caps (like NGK's) with a decent rubber seal on them could also help, as could replacement HT leads if they look a bit dodgy.

As for the rear brake - try chucking a new set of pads in. My bet is they have become glazed (shiney) and are vibrating against the disc, rather than biting. Again my own 600 developed this problem (squealing noise + naff all rear brake) and a £15 set of pads sorted it completely.

Best of luck :D

spacemonkey
06-05-2004, 08:34 PM