PDA

View Full Version : Alternative alarm ?

utopia
18-01-2018, 10:20 AM
I'm not a fan of onboard bike alarms.
To be honest, I have no personal experience as I have never actually owned one but it seems to me that they are of dubious value in the first place, often hyped up by never ending modes and features to tempt the punters and they are prone to battery draining issues and other electrical gremlins.
If I use one at all, it is a Xena alarmed disc-lock, which I like because it is totally independant of the bike's electrics.
I seldom use that but there are some occasions when the bike will be parked out of sight but within earshot, and under those circumstances it saves me constantly checking that the bike is still there.
Then today, while idly googling around during a tea break, I came across this battery powered bicycle alarm.
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Bicycle-Bike-Anti-Theft-Security-Alarm-Warning-Annunciator-Lock-with-Remote-UK/132466496131?hash=item1ed79e5283:g:eRAAAOSwxOFaV5v e
Ok, it looks like a cheap device but when you think about it, maybe that's all you need. After all, everyone knows that alarms just get ignored by the general passers by, so why have a fancy one ?
But for under a fiver, I might just be able to see a role for these cheap, low-spec units.

Discuss.

350TSS
18-01-2018, 11:55 AM
Convinced me - all the alarmed bikes I have had have been a regular PITA and the alarm has always been discarded, I bought one but some say I am easily lead

Dukedesmo
18-01-2018, 12:28 PM
Always felt alarms/immobilisers a waste of time on a bike, a determined thief will take it regardless and I don't think many bother hotwiring/riding away.

The only thing that may be of use is something that alerts you when it's being tampered with but only if you are within a few seconds of the bike so could get there and catch them in the act. In which case a battery powered alarm is probably good enough especially if hidden in the bike.

Nottsbiker
18-01-2018, 12:33 PM