PDA

View Full Version : Nitron

CarloL
26-07-2017, 11:50 AM
I purchased an R1 shock for my M900 Ducati with the Subject: Ducati M900 R1 shock , took 5 weeks to make and a few $$$

http://www.nitron.co.uk/catalogue_main.php?brandpage=yes&categorygroup=Motorcycles&brandgroup=Ducati

Mechanic has just stripped the bike and informed me the shock is 25mm too short

I rang Nitron , got through to their sales who passed me onto their technician , as the s2r and 900 specs are beside each other he may think 305 and 330mm was mixed up

I was not aware nor did the sales department make me aware there are too different models based on year ( I have to hide behind some ignorance here as I am not a mechanic and it is my first bike) , as the bike is a M900 and is the same as the pic on their website , I assumed it was the correct shock and through conversing with the Sales team via email / phone , nobody pointed out to me their are two separate versions for the same model of bike

Yes I made a mistake but the Sales department also has to have some accountability

Short of it , they want me to post the shock back and pay an additional 180 ex vat sterling to rectify the shock (new parts and labor) or my second option put forward was to try my luck on ebay

I think this is completely unacceptable, trying to figure out my options , any advice

I am thinking of a strong worded letter to the MD , at least show some good will and waiver the labor

bobbertandsammy
26-07-2017, 01:11 PM
If it's within 14 days of delivery surely you are covered by distance selling regulations?

Darren69
26-07-2017, 01:57 PM
I think the S2R wasn't made until 2005 and you ordered the '94-01 model? Maybe they sent you the S4 '01-03

Darkness
26-07-2017, 02:47 PM
The length of shock on Monsters is dependent on whether you have the hoop rear suspension [330mm shock], or the single tie rod suspension [305mm shock].
Ohlins use different model numbers for these to distinguish.