PDA

View Full Version : Seats parts heights etc

shergy
28-02-2017, 07:39 PM
Hi All,

Apologies if this is a tiresome repeat of a much asked question.

I'm new to the monster having had a thing for them for years I've got a 2003 620, which is great....however at 6ft I'm finding it a little cramped.

I know I've got the lower seat option, can anyone tell me the part no or which seat to buy to maximise height? I've seen a few on eBay but don't want to buy the wrong one.

Is my lower one worth trying to swap/sell?

Any other ther novice tips on seat height would be awesome. I need to find someone to wind the shock up for me for a start but did I read somthing about a spacer or linkage too? Hard to make sense of the info I've read for different models etc.

Thanks in advance
Simon

stopintime
28-02-2017, 08:05 PM
59510361D (from an S2R, but all other than 620 will the same)(almost sure) To investigate, go to Ducati.com -> dealers and services -> parts catalogs. This might be a good time to get a seat with the seat cowl, if you want.

Sometimes a shorter rider needs a lower seat for his/hers 'larger' bike.

Adding preload is NOT the way to increase ride height or to correct for a soft spring.

Mr Gazza
28-02-2017, 09:05 PM
You will find that a seat from an S4 will be a straight swap and be a little bit higher.
I can't tell you how much higher, but the seat will come level from the tank, rather than dip down as the 620 one does.

Of course you will be able to sell your 620 seat without too much trouble to someone shorter in the leg.

I can't give you the part number for the seat, and to be honest it doesn't often appear on the actual seat anyway. Beware the embossed number in the seat base, which is the part number for the base itself and is almost universal from 1993 onwards. they just trimmed it differently for various models.

Don't make a swap with a seat from before 2002, but you should be safe with any seat from 2002 and 2003.

Mr Gazza
28-02-2017, 09:19 PM