PDA

View Full Version : m900 monster running rich

andy burton
28-05-2016, 01:48 PM
hi all , after a bit of advice ,, I'm new to ducatis & have recently bought a carbed 900 monster , the bike is fantastic I'm sold on ducatis now ... however after a good run out on it today it has an occasional flutter !!! , stutter , engine vibe ??? don't know how to describe it really it doesn't drop on 1 or owt just runs differently for a very short time then give it some beans & its away like a rocket . .my mate followed me for a while & said theres a very strong fuel smell coming from me bike .... when I pull over and rev the bike theres a very small chuff of black from the right pipe & that pipe does smell a lot richer than the left ... not taken plugs out yet thought id ask for any info here first ... many thanks ... andy

Darren69
28-05-2016, 02:00 PM
Carb icing a little then clearing maybe? Depends on when you went out and how far? They are prone to carb ice but usually under certain weather conditions (like early morning when its cool and high moisture) but usually you can tell because you lose power and it starts coughing and spluttering. Some owners set the rear cylinder to run richer because of heat, so maybe that.

Do you know the guys at SPR in Rudd? They know a lot about Ducatis, they used to race 'em

Dennis menace
31-05-2016, 10:53 AM
Could be a blocked breather pipe for the tank. The vacuum builds up then gives. Using the throttle just puts more petrol in the carbs/engine for a while so giving the symptoms of rich running. Check the filler cap breather as well. Also, the carb models are notorious for flooding due to incorrect float height.

Dennis menace
31-05-2016, 10:55 AM
Has the bike been modified? Dyno jet, different exhausts, different carbs? Some more info would be good.

andy burton
31-05-2016, 07:52 PM
its pretty stock afaik .. apart from microns , breather on tank sounds a poss .... I will have a butchers .... thx

Flying Scot
31-05-2016, 09:33 PM