PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a monster advice please

jaffacake
17-01-2016, 08:34 AM
I have been scootering for a couple of years (after 15 years on bikes) as it seemed to make more sense. However I hate it and want to get a bike again. It's main use will be commuting and pottering. I just want to have something to potter on and enjoy riding. Also I want something where I go into the shed and think 'yes, that's mine'.

Budget is around £2.5k. I know I want the air cooled monster with the s/s swingarm and am not too bothered about whether it's a 800/ 1000.

Questions are:

1. Am I likely to get anything nice in budget?
2. Will the bike be able to do 34 miles of commuting (mainly filtering) a few times a week without costing a fortune?
3. How expensive is servicing likely to be and are the belts difficult to do?

Thanks

Flip
17-01-2016, 09:30 AM
Hi and welcome along to the friendliest Ducati forum around.

As for answering your questions I am sure others will be along shortly with their thoughts but mine are:

1: I would say 2.5k for one of the S2R bikes is a tad low unless it's really scruffy or needs some work which would suggest either neglect or accident damage.

2: Any of the Monsters would cope easily with that kind of use but the later fuel injected models would be easier to live with and a little smoother as would lowering the gearing a touch to help further (they are all over-geared anyway).

3: As to how expensive they are to service depends on your outlook and where you take it or if you know your way around spanners the belts are not difficult as long as you are confident and take your time the first couple of goes.
Service items aren't too expensive and the air cooled motors are easy to work on and so if you do put it into a dealer they will be less than the 4v or water cooled bikes.
As with all dealerships though- some are better than others and I am sure people more local to you will be able to advise there.

alan c
17-01-2016, 10:35 AM