PDA

View Full Version : Xmas job lost....... ouch

jerry
19-12-2014, 11:18 AM
i work in the offshore business and just been told all our work for 2015 has been cancelled .....looks like a bleak new year from where i am standing right now

i am registered with all the agencies but with oil at $60 many projects and jobs are being cancelled ,,,,, and there will be few openings ...

may be forced to sell some items in the spring ....

scrapps
19-12-2014, 01:46 PM
Hope it picks up for you soon jerry. Have a good Christmas

alan c
19-12-2014, 01:49 PM
That's a shame Jerry, I was made redundant at the start of November ! just accepted an offer and start on the 5th Jan.

Hope you can find something asap.

Mr Gazza
19-12-2014, 04:47 PM
Sorry to hear that Jerry...I think we've all been there at some time..:mad:

Have a chat with Stued...He is involved with that business in the North Sea.

Not sure exactly where Jepardy is, but there are a lot of jobs there apparently...:confused:

jerry
20-12-2014, 02:04 AM
My work is ROV and its all contract , there will be some work once the season in North seas starts in April but overall less than usual ,rest of the world is similar ,,lots of projects now delayed to 2017 or cancelled ,,,I need 140 days offshore minimum a year looks like 2008 again when i only got 71 days ,, so a lot of belt tightening ,,, ho hum

bluestoesonnose
20-12-2014, 06:36 AM
Sorry to hear this, I'm in a similar industry and have noticed an exodus from Aberdeen in the past few weeks. Had a mate in a similar position a few years ago. He cast his net world wide and was employed in two weeks, doubled his income and is loving it.

Dirty
20-12-2014, 09:00 AM
Sorry to hear about your work Jerry

popelli
20-12-2014, 03:40 PM
lost my Job 8 years ago and have been doing contract work ever since

have the occasional rough patch but generally in work most of the time and money goes up and down with the economy