PDA

View Full Version : cold start issues m796

EZrider
17-11-2014, 06:45 PM
Hi guys im very new to bikes, im finding during cold starts the bike wont hold the rpm and stalls , i have to keep revving until it warms up then it will start to hold.and during riding it idles just above 1k is this normal? The bike has5.5 k miles on it and just had belts change and new spark plug fitted.

slob
17-11-2014, 06:49 PM
Idling just above 1K is normal.
It should start and idle easily, I'd wait a minute for it to warm up a bit before actually riding it.
Otherwise I'd take it to whoever did the last service and ask them to check the settings.

SunEye
17-11-2014, 07:10 PM
When my valve clearances needed adjusting what you have described is what my bike would do. That's not to say it couldn't be something else causing the problem.

EZrider
17-11-2014, 07:17 PM
Thanks for replying the bike has only done 5.5k miles would the valves already need to be adjusted?

SunEye
17-11-2014, 07:23 PM
Mine starting having noticeable problems after about 5,000 miles. By about 7,000 miles it was really tricky to start. According to Pro Twins who service my bike it's not uncommon.

The valve clearances needed adjusting again this year at the 15,000 mile service. It wasn't so bad that I had problems starting the bike, but apparently the exhaust valves needed a fair bit of adjusting.

utopia
17-11-2014, 08:04 PM
I've heard it said (and it sounds likely) that most of the bedding in of the valve train components occurs during the first few thousand miles.
Once that's happened, and they have been subsequently adjusted, the clearances remain more constant.
I don't have enough experience to confirm this myself, but so far my own bike (M750) has behaved that way.
Not that valve clearances are necessarily your issue, but yes, they could perhaps need adjustment after 5.5k miles.

Dirty
17-11-2014, 08:06 PM
Strange that Riders, being a Ducati dealer, didn't suggest checking the valves whilst doing the belts!