PDA

View Full Version : The Motorcycle and The Idiot: A Marriage of Inconvenience

DukeXTC
05-01-2013, 06:21 AM
Dear All,

I have just started writing a blog of my feeble attempts at learning how to maintain a motorcycle. I've been riding for over 30 years and can only do the very basic stuff so I've committed myself to learning by buying a 1998 Honda Transalp. You can read about my trials and tribulations (and please leave feedback) at:

http://motorcycleidiot.blogspot.co.uk/

Thanks,

Pete

utopia
05-01-2013, 02:15 PM
A well written, interesting and entertaining read, so far.
I look forward to further episodes.

Does the Transalp have the oil in the frame, like my Dominator ?
If so, you may be interested in my tale.
I changed the oil.
The manual says refill in two stages, one litre at first, then start the motor briefly, then top up to the level.
I put more than one litre in the first time, thinking there was no way that extra oil could caues an issue, but in fact I may have thereby caused an air-lock in the oil passages.
Alternatively, a flexible oil-line may have collapsed, I'm still not certain, but one way or another I had no oil feed to the cylinder head, failed to spot this in time, and ultimately wrecked my cylinder head.
I ended up fitting a replacement engine.
The moral of the story being twofold....firstly always follow the recommended procedure to the letter unless you're really sure beyond any doubt that your shortcut is vald....and secondly (most importantly) on a bike with an external oil feed pipe to the cylinder head, always crack open the upper banjo bolt when the engine is first started after any work or a period of lack of use, just to check that oil does in fact ooze from the joint, confirming that you have lube to the head.

I was just wondering if your Transalp may have a similar arrangement.