PDA

View Full Version : Hello from SE London

simontt
22-02-2012, 12:53 PM
Hi everyone. My KTM Duke 125 was stolen a month ago and now signed up to do the DAS next month with a view of getting the first big bike, hopefully a 796 ABS.

Vy the way, is the 796 best choice compared to the 696 and the 1100 evo?

steeevvvooo
22-02-2012, 01:00 PM
can't comment on the new monsters as I have an older one, but welcome to the club anyway. Where abouts in SE London are you? Lots of us around in London/Kent/Essex :)

Scott1
22-02-2012, 01:19 PM
Hi Simon, I'm from SE London and I've got a 696. I think it depends on a lot of things, I've been riding for quite a few years and I find the 696 has plenty of poke for me but I do most of my riding in town, I think the 1100 might be a bit jerky for lots of traffic riding, I'm 5,11 and find it pretty comfortable, people might say the 696, maybe the 796 is very much entry level but it depends on what you want.

Musty
22-02-2012, 01:26 PM
Hi Simon and welcome!

I passed my DAS in April last year. I went for the 696 as I did plenty research and many recommended it as a great first Ducati. There is plenty of power which can still get you into lots of trouble, but its great to ride and never fails to leave a smile on my face. It corners beautifully and feels very stable. It's also quite light. so less chance of dropping it on the floor, but still very possible. Around town its great, but you might find changing the front sprocket helps slow riding a bit.

I'm sure others on here will tell you more about the 796 as a first bike... :)

J.P
22-02-2012, 02:59 PM
well done on making the move to do your D.A.S and good luck to you.
Your first problem (I live in Lewisham, Kent !) is that to insure a bigger capacity & more expensive bike, that's not garaged, in S.E London is going to be tricky. Unless money's not a problem.