PDA

View Full Version : Filler or solder ?

utopia
15-02-2011, 11:31 AM
The spare tank that I've just bought to try a new paint scheme on has a couple of very minor dents.
They would be easy to hide with ordinary filler, but I have a (probably unrealistic) fear that, having done all the paint-work, the filler might drop out one day and ruin all the hard work.
I have heard that in the past it was accepted practice by some, up-market manufacturers to use solder to build up and reshape/match ill-fitting car body panels. This would seem like a more secure/reliable method for dealing with minor issues such as I have.
Does anyone have any experience of this ?
I imagine I'll still have to use a thin, final levelling smear of filler, but I was hoping to avoid anything much thicker than that.

My main concern is that filler or primer may not bond well to the lead/tin solder.
I know its possible to get primers specifically intended for metals other than steel, but I have never used them before, so I don't know how good they are, or whether they only really work on certain metals and not on others.
Solder certainly "feels" kinda greasy...like nothing would stick that well to it.

Would be grateful for any advice.

Now I'm off to empty my old tank.... dry roads..that'll be the B6047, then. :woot:

Kato
15-02-2011, 12:30 PM
Crikey not done that for years, its not that straight forward and if not done properly will is much more likely to fall out than normal body filler, anyway here goes....:scratch:

Clean the tank of all paint, rust, dirt and grease by using a sanding disc or wire brush to work the metal until it is clean and bright, make sure it is well keyed
Apply some solder and tinning flux, which is very caustic so you might want to be a bit careful with it. Use a wire brush or steel wool followed by a clean, dry cloth to wipe off any remaining excess. The process helps remove any and all surface contaminants and prepares the surface for tinning.