PDA

View Full Version : So what's your regular journey to work like?

bigredduke
18-11-2010, 09:13 PM
I live in a village and I quite like my drive/ride into work. It’s about 11 miles and takes me about 25 minutes. I have been using this route during the working week for nearly 20 years. The village main street is usually busy in the morning with school and commuter traffic. The road out of the village quickly climbs up a steep-ish tree-lined road for about 1 mile. There is a sharp rh bend which is difficult to get right in 4 wheels or on two. I pass a couple of radio masts on the left of the road at the highest point (about 160 metres above sea level where it’s often freezing in Winter). About 500 yards on and there is a great view of the Humber Bridge and the river on your right, and on a clear day you can see to the mouth of the Humber estuary and the North Sea beyond. Then it’s a steadily descending unclassified road with a couple of quality bends with identifiable apex’s for about 8 miles. If there are no slow cars about then 70/80 is easily achieved at a couple of points (I imagine). There is a rather tricky blind left-hander which should be taken at no more than 40mph and then down through some trees with first a right then a left hander which is short but sweeping. Left turn at the junction (always cars facing you wanting to turn right so watch out).