PDA

View Full Version : M900 ignition question...

Dukedesmo
12-10-2010, 03:26 PM
For my M900 build I have an engine but no anciliaries to go with it. I am looking to source an igniton system; CDI, coils etc and as I have nothing and have heard the stock setup may not be the best, was thinking of getting an upgraded version from the off.

I have made enquiries to be asked what type of ignition the engine had originally? Kokusan, Bosh or Magneti Marelli? As I'm new to this type of engine and I don't have a clue what system it had, can anyone tell me;

1. Why it is important to know what was fitted - is there a compatibility issue?
2. How do I find out? do the cables tell me anything or do I need to remove the crankcase cover to see the pickup setup?
3. What is a good kit to get? - I will be doing some tuning on the engine including FCR carbs, HC pistons and gas flowed heads etc, if that changes anything.

Thanks for any info. :thumbsup:

Saint aka ML
12-10-2010, 06:31 PM
What ignition do you want?

Kokusan is the stock one.

I have Dynacoils
Ignitech CDI unit for carbed but they also do injected.

Dukedesmo
12-10-2010, 07:49 PM
What ignition do you want?

I want one that works, as long as it does the job and continues to do so after any tuning I'm not fussy, whether I need adjustability for spark timing etc, I don't know? It's a carbed engine.

But when I asked Ignitech they came back asking me what I've got, so it made me think that there were different models and that it was important which it was.

If need be I'll take the cover off and see what's there but I wasn't planning on stripping the engine just yet. :thumbsup:

Saint aka ML
12-10-2010, 08:00 PM
How old is you monster engine then?

In general kokusan was on all carbed models, then something else on injected.

I would think it depends what you will put it back as.

If it is going to be carbed power then the same one as I have will do.
If injected just ask for one for x,y,z year of engine you have.