PDA

View Full Version : 600 cltch slipping

Albie
15-05-2010, 02:51 PM
Well as Im new to owning a 600 Im having a weird time with the clutch. I went out today for a blat at regular speeds on the 600ss and got 15 miles and clutch starting to slip. Made it to destination and then reset off with a almost complete slip. Managed to crawl 1/2 mile to hein gerickes and the guys lent me a flat screwdriver so I backed off the screw at the bar. It seems ok agin for now.
When I got the bike it was being sorted for the clutch and has a new one in and a service. It also happened a few weeks ago on the way to see Shuffy. We backed it off then two turns and was fine. Why is this self adjusting. I much prefer a open clutch to at least see whats going on.

Any advice taken .

Got home ok and alls well.

CK & AK
15-05-2010, 03:18 PM
Sounds like you did the right thing. Possibly when it got hot the fluid expanded & started disengaging the clutch so when you backed it off, it gave it free play again.
Could well have been over adjusted on the push rod Albie

Albie
15-05-2010, 04:04 PM
Thanks.
Yes its a weird one. It was fine when I left. I wonder why the thread the hose right close to the engine. Surely it would be better a bit further away.Its the original rubber hose so Im considering changing it for braided hose. Just need to know the reason why so I can sort it. It seems to have a history with this as Steve Randall had the bike in his hands for this problem when I saw it. It pulls well now so it seems to be something stupid.

Great fun to ride though and very comfy. :D

Gilps
15-05-2010, 05:17 PM