PDA

View Full Version : New Style monster 18 Months on: Has it got it?

Ginger
02-01-2010, 05:58 PM
Okay so the new styling of the monster has been around for a little while and it's still a thing of beauty. I have no real problems with it and it on it's own is a very sexy bike that could take pride of place in any garage... But can it stand up to it's older brother?
Okay you could talk for hours about technical specifactions and 0-60 times and as an engineer I'd quite happily sit and listen. But this is not about technical brilliance - this is all about looks and let's face it you'd rather take home Jodie Marsh than Ann Widdecome at the night. I am sure that Ann could give you a great debate but she's not the kind of women that you'd mass debate over. (Hmmm... let's move on.)
So lets be shallow for a while and look at the 2 designs. The original monster design that was first introduced bassically stayed the same for about 14 years when it was eventually replaced by the new design which was sleaker and modern. Okay I am not some traditionalist that believes we should be still driving Austin Allegros but I do morn the passing of a great design. I still weep when I see something about the end of Concorde.
The two bikes are very similar; both have trellis frames, similar tank shape, 90 degree V-Twin - they are both Ducati's alright. But was something lost in the transistion? It's just like Doctor Who - Will that new guy be as good as David Tennent? And let's face it, with the classic Monster design, it was a hard act to follow.
I was sat there in Riders of Cardiff only the other day asking myself the same question whill my monnie was having a new tyre fitted. I sat there with a cup of tea staring at a whole line of brand spanking new monsters glistening under the showrooms light. And, yes, they looked brilliant. In fact they looked flipping awesome but something for me just wasn't clicking into place.