PDA

View Full Version : Need some help pointing me in the right direction

Johan
11-12-2008, 09:47 AM
Hi Guys

I have recently bought a pair of cored out standard cans which sounds fantastic but it’s time to get a bit more hp out of my S2R 800… What is the easiest way of increasing the power slightly? I’m not very technical but have heard a lot of talk about calibrating the ECU, air filter, putting on a power commander etc. Do you have any recommendations how I, with limited cost, can tune up the engine slightly (or at least make sure it performs as it should with the new cans)? (i still have the cat converter on)

I live in central London, do you have any place to recommend I can go and have the work done or buy the necessary parts?

Cheers

slob
11-12-2008, 10:12 AM
A Power Commander will allow you to smooth out the power delivery properly.
A high flow filter/open airbox may gain you a small %age increase (typically up to about 5% in conjunction with open pipes)
Give Ray a call at Rosso Corse, in Bethnal Green.
http://www.rossocorse.co.uk
ray at rossocorse dot co dot uk
020 7780 9764

PDL
11-12-2008, 10:37 AM
Learn to brake later for corners and lose weight.

Two easiest ways to get the bike moving faster - point to point.

J.P
11-12-2008, 11:58 AM
Drop that Catalytic converter off the bike, it's heavy and slows the air-flow out the exhaust.
The problem then is that you have to buy additional manifold link pipes.
There's never an easy and cheap way of doing things...

CK & AK
11-12-2008, 12:00 PM
As mentioned - lose the cat :gay: & get a PC :)

JerryXt
11-12-2008, 01:49 PM
won't the cored cans lean out the fuel like a set of race cans would? In that case, you'd need a pc to go with the new cans.

Def lose the cat tho - you won't believe how much they weigh. Do a sreach for cat replacement pipes.

slob
11-12-2008, 03:22 PM