PDA

View Full Version : Hot grips / ignition wiring

steeevvvooo
09-11-2008, 06:16 PM
I fitted hot grips a couple a weeks ago, but wired them directly to the battery. I've been a bit paranoid about leaving them switched on and draining my battery, so decided to try to wire them to the ignition.

I found a couple of accessible wires to the front righthand side, behind the horn, which run into some thicker cables along the frame towards the back of the bike. They show 12v with the ignition switched, zero when off. Easy huh? :dunce:

When I connected everything up, and switched the grips on, they show about 5v, and only 3v when switched onto "start" mode, which is basically a turbo heat up. They also don't seem as hot?

My question is...

Am I being a muppet and connecting them wrongly (I'm a bit of a noob with electrics) :scratch: :banghead:

or

Is there somewhere better to connect them so the grips are only live when the ignition is on? :scratch:

steeevvvooo
12-11-2008, 11:01 AM
Anyone have any ideas? :scratch:

If not, I'll have to wire direct to my battery again, and don't really fancy doing that :(

harry_hyde
12-11-2008, 12:23 PM
One thing I'd definitely do if I was you is to run the wires to a relay and use the relay to control the hot grips.

Reason being that the wire you have chosen may not be up to the current the grips will draw. If this doesn't blow a fuse, it may burn out the wire you're using. A relay however doesn't take much current at all so should be safe.

You can then fuse the wire you run from the battery to your hot grips.

I'd suggest you did this and then looked at the readings you get then.

If they're adjustable, the voltage may read differently depending on what current the grips are drawing so it might be worth putting an ammeter in series and getting a reading off that as well.

Hope this helps.