PDA

View Full Version : Oil Changes

cairojay
24-06-2008, 08:02 PM
As I am a mechanical novice I am slave to the smiling assassin dealer mechanics who tell me the importance of full service cash payments which I wholeheartedly believe of course! However, I am aware that there are certain things that can be done such as oil changes and o rings etc - any advice from those who have taken a hammer and a spanner to the beloved M is gratefully received - my immediate question is that my neighbour told me that it is a good idea to change the oil and filter every 2500 miles instead of the scheduled 12 months or 7500 miles, and when can I expect to be servicing or replacing a dry multiplate clutch?

Help! (from a concerned S4RS owner)

Mr Cake
24-06-2008, 08:06 PM
Lots can be done at home - its only an engine. Just get used to checking things like play in the bearings, etc... There is more to servicing than just oil and filters. I think you can leave it a bit longer with the oil changes. As for the clutch, it depends on your riding but they can handle a fair bit of abuse.

Dave

cairojay
24-06-2008, 08:12 PM
Cheers Dave, basically I ride it everyday through town and it gets a fairly big weekend ride like Donington on Sunday, Gower trip this Friday so I'm clocking up the miles and whilst I do give it a bit of stick it certainly isn't the kind of abuse reserved for trackdays. How about chain tension? I read recently that you should be checking it every couple of thousand miles?

Mr Cake
24-06-2008, 08:14 PM
I lube my chain every 300 miles. Just check the tension whenever you remember, give it a little lift up with your foot. You'll soon know when it is too slack.

Dave

DevilBoy
25-06-2008, 12:19 PM
Erm, how do you check play in the bearings?
What are bearings?
The things that the wheels run on is it?

banditloon
25-06-2008, 01:13 PM