PDA

View Full Version : Basic "away" tool kit?

rossdean
26-05-2008, 04:56 PM
I am going to be touring on my new S4RS and was hoping for some advice on a basic set of tools to carry for chain adjustment, suspension adjustment, temporary puncture repair, light bulb replacement, fuse replacement, oil replacement, filter replacement and any other general quick/routine maintenance that I haven’t thought of. I am not a mechanic and any serious problem will result in a call to the Ducati Owners club or the AA.
Thanks in advance :)

slob
26-05-2008, 06:01 PM
get a 9xx superbike c-spanner from eBay, as there isn't one in the standard Monster toolkit, other than a fuse or two and a spare tail-light bulb, I'd just carry a phone and RAC/AA card.(I just do the phone and card personally)

Nickj
26-05-2008, 07:54 PM
Mobile and RAC.
Rear wheel needs a big spanner/socket and ratchet at least so I never bother.
A few bulbs and fuses are a good idea though, I'd just go tail, headlight and one indicator.
The rip a bigger hole, insert a mushroom puncture repair system works, the RAC use them as a quick fix.
UNLESS of course you're going to the ass end of beyond in which case take everything PLUS parts!!

Dave G
26-05-2008, 08:19 PM
Just get a 916 toolkit from a ducati dealer,they should be around £15 and while still basic its better than your oe one.

If this works you should be able to see the two toolkits for comparison.
http://www.ukmonster.co.uk/monster/attachment.php?attachmentid=8800&d=1139241276

And the thread in which this has already been discussed a while back.
http://www.ukmonster.co.uk/monster/showthread.php?t=19111&highlight=toolkit

Hope that helps.

mad_turnips
26-05-2008, 08:33 PM
Pack Slob and /or AK

mad_turnips
26-05-2008, 08:34 PM
oh and AA gets my vote

gary tompkins
26-05-2008, 09:10 PM
A small jerry can for extra fuel may be a good idea too?

jerry
26-05-2008, 09:59 PM