PDA

View Full Version : Triumph owner tempted by a monster

AlexG
23-03-2008, 10:06 AM
Hi all,

I currently have a 1999 Triumph daytona 955i and am looking for a complete change. I have a budget of about £3500 and intend to chop the daytona in. I've been considering a 2001 S4 with the 916 engine which seem to go for around this price range.

I have been riding for about 7 years and always owned Jap fours (with the exception of an Aprilia RS125 which I still have) until my current triple but have never owned a Ducati. My riding is commuting with plenty of blasts for fun and some weekend touring.

I would like to go back to a naked bike and have always fancied a monster. Love the looks but have always been a bit concerned about reliability and build quality. I know they have 'character' which is what I'm after as my Triumph has it in spades.

I don't right much in winter now and don't skimp on the cleaning/servicing so my Triumph has been pretty bomb proof. How am I likely to find a monster with this in mind?

I sometimes ride 2 up with my girlfriend what are they like for pillions?

I don't suppose anyone has an S4 for sale in the North West? I've been scouring the Auto Trader and the free ads but it looks like I'll have to travel to view them.

Finally, any other models I should be looking at? Although I don't think my budget would stretch to the S4r or S2r though.

Sorry for all the questions guys. Over to you help to convert a Triumph owner!!:thumbsup:

Cheers AlexG

CK & AK
23-03-2008, 10:17 AM
You should easily get an S4 for that money - and also possibly one of the earliest M1000's, possibly an early high mileage S4R if you can find one out there too as prices have come down a little for early models of both.
You'd have change from buying a good M900ie, which would be the cheaper option for servicing etc (aircooled over the watercooled variety)
Worth taking a look on ebay as well as the usual bike sale places :)