PDA

View Full Version : has anyone on here moved to france (or maybe spain)

markus
09-10-2007, 10:37 AM
Hey there,

I, for want of a better phrase, NEED to leave england - i've fianlly had about as much as i can take of this country. Initially I was applying for Australia/New zealand, but I'm afraid the distinct lack of culture would start to get to me (I have visited before, and as beautiful as they are culture is not their strong point), So also knowing that i love france and europe i thought it might be a possibility, especially if it's within distance of the alps to fulfill my boarding needs.

So questions; have any of you lot made the break and if so what advice could you give?
My biggest worry is finding work - I'm currently an IT analyst/Business infrastructure manager, but at the moment i do not speak frence or for that matter any european language so what are my chances?

Secondly if I were to move how easy is it to find international schools?

where would you recomend, what's buying property like etc etc

just anything you can offer would be great.

Thanks

Mkus

sadbiker
09-10-2007, 11:01 AM
I know the feeling.

I always wonder if living in a place would be the same as stopping over on holiday, you know once you are there you will be open to everything the locals hate about their country that you don't normally see. With Spain the reports of Land Grab etc, Italy mounds and mounds of paperwork etc.

Kato
09-10-2007, 11:16 AM
http://www.transitionsabroad.com/publications/magazine/0001/moving_to_france.shtml

Some good info here.........

Rogerg
09-10-2007, 11:26 AM
a mate of mine moved to valencia many years back, jacking in his job as a graphic designer. The idead was get back to his first love painting (water colours, not whitewash!).

Since then he's helped so many friends and friends of friends move out that he's pretty much now doing this for a living.

He's got a website: http://www.thisisvalencia.com/ his names Tim and he loves his Gin!

JerryXt