PDA

View Full Version : Washing My Monster

toogoodlookin
28-08-2007, 05:43 PM
Hi all

This might sound like a very silly question and forgive me as im a complete newbie to motorcycling, wanted to know if anyone had any advice on products and procedures to keep my monster looking like it just rolled out of the show room.

Thanking you in advance

slob
28-08-2007, 05:51 PM
...by hand, avoid the jetwash at all costs.

Nickj
28-08-2007, 06:04 PM
I pressure wash mine, but don't use the "WHOOOOSH OMG the paints coming off" mode expect on particularly stubborn sticky crud, mind I do pull the all connectors afterwards to keep them nice and lubed.
Experience says as long as the connectors are good you can virtually run the motor underwater with no problems!!
For the best way to retain a showroom condition totally blemish free I'd suggest a reinforced shelf indoors and mount the bike as a piece of art :biggrin:

Scotty
28-08-2007, 06:22 PM
ride it a bit afterwards to dry it out

paulyh
28-08-2007, 06:38 PM
I use Autoglym motorcycle cleaner, just spray it on, leave for a minute, give it a scrub then rinse off. After drying what I can with a leather i then give it a real good spray with a water displacer such as WD40 or similar, this drives out any moisture from the bits you can't reach (make sure you avoid the brakes though!!!):woot:

I agree with Rob, avoid the pressure washer if you can, it will put water where you don't want such as in to headstock bearings where all you want is grease!:(

gary tompkins
28-08-2007, 07:04 PM
Muck-off or Gunk + assortment of brushes + bucket + warm soapy water & hose pipe... provided ban isn't in force.

Oh and plenty of elbow grease - not available in tins unfortunately ;)

As others have said steer clear of mega-pressure washers...

... unless you have a fetish for replacing bearings, or like watching your engine/frame/wheels paint vanish in front of your eyes :look:

Nickj
28-08-2007, 07:16 PM