PDA

View Full Version : M600 Monster Problem.

tomferreira
17-04-2007, 01:50 PM
Hi All,

Just got my first monster home (2000 M600 on 9700 miles)this weekend. Previous owner had it running perfectly and it was running like a dream up the M4 home when it stalled on my driveway and refuses to start again.

Plenty of fuel in the tank, sparks at the plugs and fuel comes out of the drainage lines from the carbs. I'm completely baffled. Surely spark + fuel = engine running, but just turns over but doesn't fire.

Does anyone have any suggestions?? Pleeeeeaaase!!!

Thanks, Tom.

hammy
17-04-2007, 02:08 PM
Hi Tom

I'm no expert, & I'm not sure why she should have stalled on you, but the fact you're struggling to get her going makes me think it COULD be the ignition relay. I had a similar VERY frustrating problem last year. Everything appeared ok, but she just wouldn't fire. There's two of the little bleeders next to the battery (1 inch square black boxes). That's where I'd start. Swap them over first, see if she starts, then replace one/both.They're only about a fiver a piece. I also keep a spare under the seat!!

Good luck
David

gremlin
17-04-2007, 02:12 PM
do you have compression ?

tomferreira
17-04-2007, 02:28 PM
I'm not sure Gremlin. How would I check that?

tomferreira
17-04-2007, 02:35 PM
Hi Tom

I'm no expert, & I'm not sure why she should have stalled on you, but the fact you're struggling to get her going makes me think it COULD be the ignition relay. I had a similar VERY frustrating problem last year. Everything appeared ok, but she just wouldn't fire. There's two of the little bleeders next to the battery (1 inch square black boxes). That's where I'd start. Swap them over first, see if she starts, then replace one/both.They're only about a fiver a piece. I also keep a spare under the seat!!

Good luck
David

Thanks for the advice David. I'll do as you suggest and keep the old fingers crossed.

Lost Again
17-04-2007, 02:36 PM