PDA

View Full Version : Blonde Moment

DukeChick620
14-02-2007, 12:05 AM
Hi all, well I think I and my husband had quite a blonde moment when we bought the monster. So I may need a little help. The bike was registered in 2002 so we foolishly presumed that it was a 620, as thats the year they started to make them I believe. I also believ that the 2001 was carbed and 2002 was Fuel injected? Well it has no 620 markings on it, the V5 says 600cc and the engine/frame numbers both contain 600 in them. I'm not too bothered if it is the 600, it would just be nice to know :confused: . So what are the major ways of telling the difference between the 600/620 01/02 bikes? Baring in mind im not too technically minded when it comes to bikes and hubby has never owned a ducati, however he is farely technically minded when it comes to bikes. Many thanks all. Jacqui. :biggrin:

slob
14-02-2007, 12:20 AM
The year it was registered is not neccessarily the year it was manufactured. The 620 is indeed injected, the 600 carbed. HAS IT GOT CARBS? is the killer question. If that's it in your avatar, it looks as though it has although it's hard to be sure from such a small picture. I haven't seen a 620 dark with silver frame and wheels before but that doesn't neccesarilly mean the factory didn't ever produce an odd one.
Also, is there an imobiliser built into the clocks, do the needles do a 'sweep' of the dials when you first turn the key? If not, it ain't an 'ie' model. Plus your avatar shows rear suspension with a hoop not a tie-rod, which says 600 not 620 to me.

DukeChick620
14-02-2007, 12:47 AM
Thank you so much. No it doesnt do the sweep so its the 600dark. Well atleast thats one problem solved. SO it will be a 2001 model I take it? Just i'm looking at these so I need to know really. Sound reasonable and the right ones lol.:dizzy: :ukm: Thank you, Jacqui

DukeChick620
14-02-2007, 12:48 AM