PDA

View Full Version : engine leaking oil, again...

craigie
28-05-2006, 05:17 PM
Today I noticed a bit of oil on the horizontal cambelt cover where the frame mounts to the engine. gently rode the couple of miles home....oil over the right side of engine, the right exhaust, the hugger and just for good measure a couple of spots on the tyre. The bizarre thing is that it appears out of nowhere. From the cables tied at the point where engine and frame mount and unless I'm mistaken electricity does need oil to move.
I have had the rear cylinder nonsense already and it not the same.

I'm no mechanic, obviously, but I'm stumped. I will be taking it to Rosso corse on Tuesday but does anyone have any ideas as to what has gone wrong?

Also if you are around Slob, do you know what kind of oil they use at Rosso Corse so I can top up to get myself there. I think its Rock but don't know if it fully or semi.

Cheers

Lucky

slob
28-05-2006, 07:37 PM
Are you sure it's not dripping off the bottom end of the speedo cable? although it sounds as though you're seeing too much for that.
As far as I know it's Rock Oil Synthesis.

craigie
28-05-2006, 08:10 PM
Are you sure it's not dripping off the bottom end of the speedo cable? although it sounds as though you're seeing too much for that.
As far as I know it's Rock Oil Synthesis.

Way too much and the level in the sight glass is way down to just above the bottom of the circle. Oil warning light hasn't come on yet though.

Cheers for the rock oil info, don't know where I'll get hold of that on a Bank Holiday Monday though. If the warning light ain't on yet do you think I'll be ok to get to Ray's?

CK & AK
28-05-2006, 08:18 PM
O ring gasket? - in the cylinder head. If so, its not a hard job to do Craigie, but can make a mess when it goes - like you describe.

or - Oil pressure switch? Ade had similar probs as you mention when his went.

or - breather? - hole in pipe?

Just ideas to start at:)

gary tompkins
28-05-2006, 08:49 PM