PDA

View Full Version : Track day preparation

Gilps
24-05-2006, 11:46 AM
What do I need to do to my bike for the track day. I know I need to tape up the headlight. Is this to stop the light showing, or to stop broken lens glass when/if I bin it? do I need to cover the entire lens or do i just put a cross on it? what's the best thing to use? If i use sticky electricians tape for instance, is the heat from the bulb going to melt glue on and never come off again.
I will probably take the mirrors off.
Again, is taping up the indicators to prevent me from indicating, or stop broken shards of lens going on the track? do I cover the whole lens or put one piece of tape around it.
Do I cover the brake light too? Surely not.

Also, any tips on what I should bring to the circuit. I was planning on bringing socket set, chain adjuster, basic tools and a bike. Have I missed anything?

What facilites do they have at Mallory? Are there changing rooms?
I've never done this before so any pointers would be much appreciated. I'd hate to turn up only to find I should've brought a bottle to pee into.:mand:

slob
24-05-2006, 01:05 PM
Tape headlight to stop broken glass spreading... A cross should do. Electrical/gaffer tape - no problem with heat.
Tape indicators and tail light for same reason.
Some people take out the rear bulb to stop it blowing, I'd rather have mine in so that ??? can see when I'm on the brakes.
Remove mirrors, looking in them will only distract you. You could tape them up but removal may save expense later.
Tape up speedo, as above. leave trip-meter visible for fuel watching.

Check Oil, brake fluid levels, tyres and brake pads.
Drop tyre pressures(once you get there) if weather is half decent.
I like to firm up the rear shock a touch.

Spud
24-05-2006, 01:24 PM
That was intuitive Gilps, I was planning to ask the very same questions today myself.

No clear answer on the pee bottle though!

fatbloke
24-05-2006, 02:02 PM
No clear answer on the pee bottle though!