PDA

View Full Version : new boy

rossi
10-05-2006, 11:24 PM
hello out there ,i have just made the switch from fast bits of plastic for a nice black 96 900 monster.I am in the cambridge area.as i am new to the ducati is there anything to be aware of with the bike auther than the belts?
would be nice to see some moore monsters round these parts not to many about.

lord vader
10-05-2006, 11:30 PM
Welcome Rossi, hope you enjoy yer new toy and what a superb choice in colour or lack of it.
You will find the Dark Side small yet powerfull here.
There are loads of really useful and informed people here who will astound you with the knowledge of your Bike. I'm not one of those but i do hope you love your Monster as much as i do.:thumbsup:

Pugi
10-05-2006, 11:40 PM
Welcome. I reckon valve clearances should be mentioned, but others will know more. Otherwise you just change pieces as you go along and add bling. :cool:

Zimbo
10-05-2006, 11:45 PM
Welcome Rossi!
Not too much to be aware of, the belts need to be correctly tensioned and should be replaced at least every 2 years / 12000 miles, and the valve clearances should be checked every 6000. Other than that it's oil and filter every now and then (i do mine every 3000) and general maintenance. Check the rose joints (tie rod ends attaching the rear suspension hoop to the swinging arm) aren't siezed up, the rest is just common sense.

rossi
10-05-2006, 11:45 PM
many thanks lord vader,the force seems to be quite strong with this one,it's been fitted with a few bolt on goodies.k&n filter /dyno jetted /55mm termi full system/adjustable forks/320mm brembo disc,s/shortend back end,and moore it's the best thing i've riden Yet.should have terned to the dark side adges ago!

rossi
10-05-2006, 11:51 PM
Welcome Rossi!