PDA

View Full Version : Lydden Trackday - Muppets and monsters

marchesini
21-08-2005, 01:56 PM
A good turnout at Lydden this Saturday: Terry (Fatbloke), Craigie, Stuart (Devstars on his KTM supe), Slob, Nattyboy, Iain (Natty's mate on a 998s) and a couple of other waifs and strays, I picked up en-route. There were a couple of other Monsters there aswell (apologies if I've not mentioned you as I am not too good with names) and as an added bonus, Muttley turned up with half of News International's camera equipment to take some cracking photos.

The day started out damp and overcast but hopeful for Mr. Sunshine to pay us a visit later on. The first sessions were pretty nervous affairs - damp patches, small slides and early morning cobwebs hindering the progress.

By mid-morning though, everyone was having a good time and the inters group saw some nice little battles. Myself and Terry played a bit of cat and mouse for most sessions - me taking him on the left hander and him retaking me up the hill because I was in the wrong gear - all good clean fun.

Craigie woke me up out of my slumber, passing me downhill on the straight - woah, did the red mist descend then. He's come on great now - the limiting factor now being his ground clearance on his exhausts rather than him. Craigie, save up for the high levels and rearsets and show us how it should be done.

Stuart seemed to be having a good time on his ktm and Natty was Doctor Smooth as usual. Deceptively fast in fact - doesn't look like he's really pushing it but even trying to keep up is hard work - DesmoDue material I reckon Natty. Very tidy, safe and rapid.

My newly acquired 748 worked beautifully although it took a couple of sessions to 'get it'. I am used to the low-down grunt of the 996 and 916 engines so was expecting similar torque from the 748. Once I got used to working the gearbox a lot more, it worked brilliantly.