PDA

View Full Version : Cheap End Cans (preferably Carbon)

claicerrig
14-08-2005, 09:28 PM
Hi can any one help at all.............?

I have just Jmo`d the S4 :eek: And fitted the 1 piece DP Carbon Fiber Seat unit

Now looking at the Bike i`m thinking the cans stick out a tad too far from the rear end.

It got me thinking of how to reduce the length so it looks less like a Scud rocket launcher meets Wheelbarrow :o

Rather than cut up a perfectly good set of Tergimonies i was wandering if there are any accident damaged cans lying around i could perhaps utilise in my quest for symetery :lol:

Other wise interesting and helpfull suggestions would be appreciated

Paranoid Dave
14-08-2005, 09:36 PM
i know lenny (and linda) wanted to do the same thing with his M1000 as the cans stick out too far. I am no expert in cutting the back of a bike off and modding something in its place :rolleyes: but rather than mod the can, could there not be a 3 inch section of downpipe (or crosspipe as it should be) after the bend at high level so they sit further back? Maybe take a bit out and welt the two bits together so the connection is still there. I know your carbon bits wouldn't fit but personally i'd drop them anyway as a can is a thing of beauty - at both ends.

Just a thought.

Pedro
14-08-2005, 09:48 PM
Other wise interesting and helpfull suggestions would be appreciated

Yeah, stick the tail back on...!

Bloody heathens cutting up Ducatis' finest... mutter, mutter....

:lol:

Nice seat unit btw, is it comfy? Few sets of cans on fleabay at the moment.

Ped

Mr C
14-08-2005, 10:50 PM
Or just get some low level cans

Rogerg
14-08-2005, 11:04 PM
I opted for a pair of sils on mine as they're shorter than the terry wogans.

JMo
15-08-2005, 01:13 AM
Clai - I think I might have what you are looking for...