PDA

View Full Version : Chain tension

Blue Beastie
18-07-2005, 02:02 PM
After a successful evening working on my monster, keeping in mind that I am a mechanical novice, something still bothers me. Everytime I adjust the drive chain tension to what I think is the correct tension, roll the bike backwards and forwards, the chain just goes back to the same as it was before. It's not an old chain and everything is tight (nut and bolt wise). It's quite loose but not worryingly so. Just wondered if there is an obvious reason that I am missing.

Other than that, I managed to replace the neutral switch, service the rear brake caliper and change the pads, and remove/re-fit the back wheel for a tryre change. The drive chain thing happened before I touched the rear wheel!!

nik_the_brief
18-07-2005, 02:07 PM
After a successful evening working on my monster, keeping in mind that I am a mechanical novice, something still bothers me. Everytime I adjust the drive chain tension to what I think is the correct tension, roll the bike backwards and forwards, the chain just goes back to the same as it was before. It's not an old chain and everything is tight (nut and bolt wise). It's quite loose but not worryingly so. Just wondered if there is an obvious reason that I am missing.

Other than that, I managed to replace the neutral switch, service the rear brake caliper and change the pads, and remove/re-fit the back wheel for a tryre change. The drive chain thing happened before I touched the rear wheel!!

You should have about 25mm of play (that'a an inch to those of us born before the 70s) at the tightest point of the chain if properly adjusted.

I assume that you pushed your bike back and forth til you got to the tightest point and then did your adjustments? If so then there's nowt to worry about although you may want to keep an eye on the chain and consider replacing the whole thing (as well as the sprockets) if it does go slack with ever increasing regularity.

slob