PDA

View Full Version : ramble

creepy
15-04-2005, 09:26 PM
is it me?or is using a monster for daily commuting a bad idea?i dont want to sound negative as i love my bike,but every day the thing seems to run differently,sometimes sweet,sometimes off colour.it always starts well but theres always that feeling that i,ve been lucky it started,if you know what i mean? every week seems to throw up a new niggle too fix at the weekend before work on monday and the thing seems to attract dirt like no other i've owned!i'm no mechanic but i did fit a second-hand cylinder head after i broke a cambelt,so this might explain my lack of confidence in the machine but the the thing just feels fragile to me.in my opinion with 25k on clock regardless of age the bike should be like new,but when i read other posts it seems my bike is high milage! i ride one of the busiest roads in europe every day(a2 into london) but ive never seen another monster,are monsters for fun only?should i buy a honda 90?
creepy

Scotty
15-04-2005, 09:50 PM
nah but im convinced they need a good work out every now and again rather than (the short in my case) commute to work

spacemonkey
15-04-2005, 11:11 PM
Broke a cambelt??? THE most important thing with these beasts is regular correct servicing. No ifs or buts. Should be fine for commuting then. I usually do a high mileage around London on mine. 35k now, most of that 'round London. The batteries are **** eon these, for a better solution get a http://www.tayna.co.uk/catalog/73/0/Motorcycle-Batteries-Odyssey-Batteries-page1.html from http://www.knightbatteries.com/popup.cfm?p_n=91471&p_i=91471
That'll do it...

DesmoDog
16-04-2005, 12:03 PM
I used mine for a really short trip to work <3miles. Won't bother again as it did the bike no good at all and mine is well maintained. 27k miles. Better to get a scooter.

slob
16-04-2005, 02:12 PM
Creepy,