PDA

View Full Version : Oil on me boots

Blue Beastie
11-04-2005, 02:49 PM
Seem to have acquired a spray of oil on my boots this morning after riding the beast into work. Any ideas as to where it may be coming from? No oil puddles under bike when parked. It's mostly on the left one but a wee bit on the right too. Haven't just loobed the chain so don't think it could be that. I sparyed the engine liberally with WD40 so it may be that I suppose.

Also, my neutral light doesn;t work any more. Is there a connector I can check/clean somewhere. Sorry, obvious questions but I'm still learning :confused: :)

rich
11-04-2005, 04:16 PM
Hi there Re:-

"neutral light doesn;t work any more. Is there a connector I can check"

If yours is like mine

the switch is located RHS of rear shock area

and the conection fails in side of the boot

follow the cable up and you will find a joint B4 the loom

short it and the light should work if the bulb is ok !

Hope this helps rich

rich
11-04-2005, 04:48 PM
Try here ,if it's u/s
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=10448&item=7967728334&rd=1

A Yerbury
11-04-2005, 05:21 PM
early neutral switches had a pin connetcor slightly larger than your average atom, the newer ones are glued and cost about 12 quid. as for the oil? is it clutch fluid from the slave?

scrumpster
11-04-2005, 10:02 PM
I had oil on my boots and it was from my fork seal. It didn't drip at first, so may be worth checking!

Blue Beastie
12-04-2005, 08:37 AM
Cheers folks. Fork seals were done 1,500 miles ago so hopefully they are ok but I'll check anyway.

MikeG
12-04-2005, 09:15 AM
IMO, spraying the chain with WD 40 is not a good idea. WD40 is a solvent and will cause the O rings to fail, thereby ensuring you have to buy a new chain sooner than anticipated!!!! Use a chain lube or if you are a cheapskate like me, engine oil and a rag. Of course the best solution is a Scott-Oiler!

Rockhopper
12-04-2005, 12:27 PM