PDA

View Full Version : A few questions from a new monster owner!!

Blue Beastie
27-03-2005, 08:02 PM
Well, gone and done it. Got myself a 1996 M600. JUst have a few questions as I am totally new to Monsters and need some help.

Can anyone tell me what the triangle warning light is? It looks a bit like a hazard light thingy but it came on when I got home tonight after riding 60 miles home in the pissing rain, turned the bike off and then started it up again. I don't think the wee beast has been used much in the last couple of years. IT's only done 1,500 miles since its last service in 2001. Only done 8,900 in total. At the last service it got the usual air and oil filter. Also got new cam belt, valve clearances and carb balancing.

Also, it was back firing a bit (standard cans) when changing down gears :confused: Is this normal? It also takes ages to warm up.

Can anyone give me a rough idea as to what mileage I can expect out of the tank?

And finally, how the hell do you get the bugger into neutral!!!!!!

Any help/advice much appreciate. I love the look and feel of it and just want to make the most out of my new bike!!

Cheers

Phoenix
27-03-2005, 09:21 PM
Red Triangle is the side stand down light. They can be temperamental.
I usually get 130 warning light to warning light.
Mine doesn't take long to warm up at all.
Mine doesn't backfire between gears but i don't have standard cans.
Neutral - that will come as you get used to bike.

nik_the_brief
27-03-2005, 09:22 PM
Hi, welcome to the club, good choice of bike!

Triangle warning light thingy is telling you that your sidestand is down, mine flickers on and off as I go along - especially over the bumps.