PDA

View Full Version : noisy chain

cerebus
18-02-2005, 11:54 AM
My chain makes a knocking sound when I am travelling slowly (I presume it does it when I travel fast as well, but I can't hear it then)

For example when I get home I turn the bike round and push it backwards into the garage. I hear a knocking sound then and sometimes if I push it forwards as well. Last night I heard it when coasting at about 5mph as well.

I am guessing it is the noise of the chain running over the guide on the top of the swingarm, but as you may have guessed I am no mechanic :)

So is this a case of :

The chain is just slack (I'll check it this weekend anyway)

The rear wheel is misaligned (possible, I have had a puncture repaired, so had the rear wheel off since last service/tyre change)

"They all do that sir" ....do they ?

Old chain/sprockets - 17,000 miles, but with a scottoiler (don't start that one up again) Last time I checked (15,000 miles) the chain and sprockets seemed fine (see note above about mechanical skills)

Something else ? wheel bearings, gears, noises in my head ?

Cerebus of the ticking chain

MotoNik
18-02-2005, 12:15 PM
It would be worth getting the bike up on a paddock stand and spinning the back wheel round - see if there's any tight spots that might be causing the chain to go slack then tight.

Also, as you mention, misalignment of the wheel might cause it.

Might be worth giving it a clean (paraffin and a toothbrush, then rinse with water), and see if that's better. Don't forget to clean around the front sprocket and the wear guides too. Then give it a good lubing and see how it is then.

Nik

Pedro
18-02-2005, 12:17 PM
That's a lot of miles so it may just be knackered.

Ped

Ade
18-02-2005, 12:18 PM
I think I can say that you have answered your own question, with 17,000 miles on a chain. that has got to be some sort of record.